Drones (And Other Flying Death Robots)

I was recently discussing the drone war with a co-worker of mine (a person who seems to inspire posts from me). His position was that it’s likely that this sort of clandestine killing of foreign threats has likely always gone on, and therefore wasn’t bothered by it. Additionally, he was sure that the people killed in the attacks, “…did something wrong.”

So, I tried to turn it around a bit. What if it were announced that the president were going to launch drones in the US, in order to fight the war on drugs? Let’s say there’s a kingpin somewhere in the continental US, and drones were to be used to take him and his ilk out, without a trial (for now we’ll ignore the issue of collateral damage).

I was disappointed when my co-worker said he wouldn’t have a problem with it at all, provided the administration publicly announced their decision to use drones prior to actually using them. “Without a trial?” I asked. He replied, “I think they should know that if you break the law, this s#@% could happen to you.”

To me, his response is very telling. I fear that he is not simply an outlier within the sphere of political opinions on this matter, but in fact representative of a very large number of Americans indeed. Many people don’t seem concerned about the drone strikes, or the lack of due process in targeting Americans. It seems that there is blind trust for executive power, and there doesn’t seem like there’s much that can be done to shake it.

In my view, substituting due process for an executive decision should concern each and every American. It is through that process that truth (hopefully) is revealed and justice (hopefully) occurs! To simply assume that the president has the best intentions with the policy is downright naive. I hate to say it, but I think America is ripe for tyranny, and once we hit the tipping point, turning around will be very difficult indeed.

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Drones (And Other Flying Death Robots)”

  1. dirtyuglypolitics says :

    I agree fully. Sadly most Americans don’t care. As long as they can watch football, nascar and their favorite reality shows, they’re happy. Aside from everything you pointed out, how about the innocents killed? Drone strikes= blowback.

    • The Existential Christian says :

      I was planning on writing a separate post specifically on blowback and the ethics of killing innocent people. I haven’t had much time to write recently, so I’m not quite sure when that will be, but you’re right: blowback is a significant problem. I’ll give a quick sum up of my views.

      Individuals intrinsically have value, and no individual can be said to be “worth” more than another in an objective sense. Therefore, the “collateral damage” from drone strikes, innocent men, women, and children killed, should be taken just as seriously as if they were Americans, and is equally as immoral. Additionally, the unintended consequences of killing these innocents is that instead of holding favorable or even just neutral opinions on the US, they become hostile and more likely to want to avenge the death of their loved ones.

      Nice blog theme, by the way. Looks familiar 😉

  2. dirtyuglypolitics says :

    Almost forgot— Here’s my piece on drones from Dec. 9th 2012. http://dirtyuglypolitics.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/drones-and-foreign-policy/

  3. The Dandler says :

    Personally, I would like to read a blog article about the relationship between NASCAR and political tyranny. I’m sure there is one.

Leave a Reply

